*Photos supplied/Collage by Gary Foster Skelton
*Photos supplied/Collage by Gary Foster Skelton

The Bermuda Olympic Association (BOA) today announced the names of the athletes who will represent Bermuda at the XX Commonwealth Games being held in Glasgow, Scotland from 23 July 23 to August 3, 2014.

A total of 18 athletes will compete for Bermuda in six sports:



Arantxa King

Shianne Smith

Aaron Evans

Harold Houston

Tyrone Smith

Shaquille Dill



Nicole Mitchell

Dominique Mayho



Gemma Lightbourne



Micah Franklin

Robert Maycock

Nicholas Kyme



Julian Fletcher

Roy-Allan Burch



Flora Duffy

Tucker Murphy

Tyler Butterfield

Jonathan Herring


The team will be supported by ten officials and a medical team of three to complete the complement travelling to Glasgow under the leadership of the Chef de Mission, Mr. Stanley Douglas. 

Judy Simons, BOA President said: “We are confident that this team will represent Bermuda superbly both in and out of the sports arena, and on behalf of all of Bermuda we wish them great success.” 

Bermuda first competed in the Commonwealth Games in 1930 at Hamilton, Canada and has missed only four editions of the Games.  

Bermuda’s first medal came in Kingston in 1966 with a silver medal for John Morbey in the men’s long jump final.  The 1990 Games in Auckland produced the first gold for Bermuda when Clarance Saunders took gold in the men’s high jump, a record that still stands today.