Warwick Workman’s Club 1 took all six points from Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club in the latest round of Bermuda Snooker League games.

Gary Bascombe won both games against Andrew Hanwell 67-17 and 46-31, while James Talbot defeated Bart Lewis 48-37 and Andre Burgess defeated Jon Pedro 42-32. 

The doubles game was won by partners Burgess/Talbot against Tom Cunningham/Pedro 64-39.

Warwick Workman’s Club 2 and Sandys Boat Club ended the night level at 3-3. 

Peter Bromby and Keith Smith played the double-frame games with Bromby winning both 78-26 and 52-43. 

Bromby also had the highest break of the night with a 27. Nadanja Bailey put WWC on the board by winning his game against Richard Beale 29-17 before  Daniel Caines evened the score by defeating Martin Siese 57-46. 

In the doubles game Bailey/Reuben Burchall defeated Siese/Beale 48-22.

Spanish Point Boat Club defeated Watford Sports Club 2 4-2. Stewart Greenslade put SPBC in front by winning his
game against Aaron Bean 55-33. 

Chris Dakin lost to Tony Dawson 71-26 and Ed Gumbs and Keino Zuill split a game each.

Gumbs won the first 64-36 and Zuill the second 60-39. Dakin/Greenslade won the doubles game against Dawson/Bean 55-31.

Burrows wins Miller

Meanwhile, the Bermuda Snooker Association’s Miller Handicap Challenge Snooker Tournament was held at two locations — the Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club and Queen’s Club, on Saturday.

In the first semi final Timmy Sousa defeated Maurice Hawkins in straight frames — 76-62 and 52-41, while Honky Burrows advanced to the finals after defeating John Burns 2-1.

The finals was a race to three, with Sousa having to spot Burrows eight points at the start of each game.

In one of the closest finals to date, Burrows won the first game 57-43.

Sousa fought back to take the second game 55-21. But Burrows won the third  64-56 and Sousa won the fourth 56-45. 

In the fifth and final game Burrows defeated Sousa 53-42 to take the title.

The next Miller tournament is scheduled for Sunday, February 23. Sign up is at Sandy’s Boat Club at 12 Noon and the finals will be played at Watford Sports Club.

Penny DeSilva is the press officer for the Bermuda Snooker League.