Keegan Bradley *File photo
Keegan Bradley *File photo

The hefty purse and glorious surroundings at Port Royal make the PGA Grand Slam of Golf a welcome end-of-season bonus for the season’s Major winners.

It means very few want to miss out on the two-round tournament, which sees the winner pocket $600,000, second $300,000, third $250,000 and fourth $200,000.

Phil Mickelson is the exception this year but as a renowned family man — and, let’s face it, a few dollars already in the bank — it wasn’t a big surprise The Open winner decided to skip this year’s event.

It means that, as defending champion, the affable Padraig Harrington joins the three others who, despite all winning their maiden Major this year, are all potential Hall of Famers. Click here for a run-down of our awesome foursome that continue a rich tradition of stellar names. Before Bermuda played host, Tiger Woods, Mickelson, Ernie Els, Greg Norman, Ian Woosnam Lee Trevino and Gary Player were among those to lift the trophy.

This island has also welcomed the best in the game, giving the event fresh impetus with its  friendliness and stunning vistas. The pro-am is on Monday, with round one and two on Tuesday and Wednesday. Stay up-to-date here at

Winners’ roll call

Port Royal

2012: Padraig Harrington

2011: Keegan Bradley

2010: Ernie Els

2009: Lucas Glover

Mid Ocean

2008: Jim Furyk

2007: Angel Cabrera

Poipu Bay, Hawai’i

2006: Tiger Woods

2005: Tiger Woods

2004: Phil Mickelson

2003: Jim Furyk

2002: Tiger Woods

2001: Tiger Woods

2000: Tiger Woods

1999: Tiger Woods

1998: Tiger Woods

1997: Ernie Els

1996: Tom Lehman

1995: Ben Crenshaw

1994: Greg Norman

Nicklaus Resort Course, California

1993: Greg Norman

1992: Nick Price

Kauai Lagoons Resort, Hawai’i

1991: Ian Woosnam

Kemper Lakes Golf Club, Illinois

1990: Andy North

1989: Curtis Strange

1988: Larry Nelson

1986: Greg Norman

PGA National GC, Florida

1982: Bill Rogers

Breakers West Golf Course, Florida

1981: Lee Trevino

Hazeltine National, Minnesota

1980: Lanny Wadkins

Oak Hill, New York

1979: Gary Player