FRIDAY, JUNE 15: Annett Wichmann won the Women’s 100 metres hurdles as the Powerade Bermuda National Track and Field Championships kicked off tonight under drizzly conditions at the National Sports Centre.

The crowd took shelter under the covered grandstand as Wichmann stopped the clock in 14.89. Bermuda’s Shianne Smith was second in 15.15 while Wichmann’s Una-Ca-Garde teammate was third in 16.28.

Ashley Eastwanik set the tone for the record breaking evening by smashing the national 5000m record. Estwanik ran a  16:40.31. Juma Mouchette ran the 5000 metres at the same time and clocked 16.16.00.

Aaron Evans won the 800m in 1:49.55, but that was outside the time he needed to qualify for the London Olympic. Henry Carty-Stevens was second in 1:54.86. Other 800m results saw Pacers' Rachel Fox win the Girls Under-20 in 2:21.40, edging Platinum Force's Shuntae hendrickson by just 0.26 seconds. 

Shaquille Dill crossed the line first in the Boys Under-20 800m in 1:52.75, beating Dage Minors (1:57.35).

Kyrah Scraders (2:14.19) Took the Girls Under-17 800m title while Jahmari Sutton (2:12.69) won the Boys Under-17 800m crown.

Other 800m winners were Quinnae Outerbridge (Girls Under-14), Michaiah Robinson (Boys Under-14), Zahra Wilson (Girls Under-12) and Aaron Jacobs (Boys Under-12), Salah Tuzzo (Girls Under-10), Robert Thomas (Boys (Under-10).

Arnatxa King won the women's open long jump with a leap of 6.28, but that fell short of the Olympic qualifying standard of 6.65. 

Paige Rego was unchallenged in the Gilrs 14 & under 3000m. She ran a 11.51.28 while Nico Barclay was the Boys 17 and Under champ in 19:14.35

Tre Houston won the Men's open 200m in 21.33 with David Sadkin coming in second. Kyle Webb took the Boy's Under-20 crown in 21.76 with Taahira Butterfield winning the Girl's Under-17 in 25.42. Butterfield's time was a new record. Kristin Saltus ran a 26.92 to take the Girls Under 20 title. 

In the Women's Open 200m Jernail Hayes from the University of Virginia Petersburg-Hayes ran a 23.62 to beat Bermuda's Shianne Smith. 

Other winners included: Maurice Jones (Boys 14&Under), Syriah lottimore (Girls 12&Under), Suresh Black (Boys 12&Under), Jaiden Furbert-Jacobs (Boys 10&Under), Destani Warner (Girls 10&Under)