THURSDAY, MAY 19: The One Bermuda Alliance (OBA) shadow cabinet was unveiled today, with all seven MPs who quit the UBP given jobs.

And the three former BDA MPs – who split from the UBP in 2009 – have also been given shadow cabinet roles.

Deputy Leader and new Senator Craig Cannonier will take over the major role of shadow Minister for Economy, Trade and Industry.

Trevor Moniz will become House Leader and the shadow Attorney General and Minister for Justice, while Bob Richards will take the Finance shadow role.

Senator Michael Dunkley, in addition to being Senate Leader, will retain his UBP role as shadow Minister for National Security.

His Senate team will have former BDA member Dr Kathy Michelmore as shadow Health Minister.

Dr Grant Gibbons will be shadow Education Minister, while Patricia Gordon-Pamplin will be shadow Minister for Business Development, Tourism and Transport.

Ex-BDA MPs Mark Pettingill and Shawn Crockwell also have shadow roles. Mr Pettingill will take over Public Works and Housing, and Mr Crockwell will serve as whip and spokesman for Public Administration and Reform.

BDA colleague Donte Hunt will take over the Youth, Sports and Community Development portfolio.

Cole Simons will be shadow Environment, Planning and Infrastructure, and Louise Jackson will be spokeswoman for Seniors and Social Services (Financial Assistance).

An OBA statement said that each shadow minister would also develop shadow boards under chairmen, a BDA concept designed to give party members a voice in forming policy.

A statement on the OBA website said: “The One Bermuda Alliance is committed to involving as many people as possible who have the desire to put Bermuda first.”

The statement added OBA leader John Barritt will announce the chairmen of the boards over the next few weeks. The chairmen will act as spokespeople outside parliament on their shadow ministries.