MONDAY, DEC. 17: Premier Paula Cox tonight lost her seat in a shock result in Devonshire North West.

And – no matter who forms the next Government – Bermuda will have a new Premier in the coming days.

Ms Cox picked up 337 votes compared to OBA challenger Glen Smith’s 470 votes. She had around 45 per cent of the vote compared to 55 per cent for Mr Smith.

Ms Cox held the seat in 2007 with 492 votes over Alan Marshall of the then-UBP, who took 215 votes.

Boundary changes in the constituency, however, were likely to make it more marginal this time out – although the scale of the defeat will send shock waves through the PLP.

Mark Pettingill is celebrating with family and friends on his win over Dale Butler.

Commenting on Premier Paula Cox losing her seat he told the Bermuda Sun:

"I think that is just a complete reflection of how the country views her management of the finances of Bermuda over the last 10 years.